Why the Zimbabwe Resilience Building Fund?
The resilience approach focuses on the how to manage natural resources efficiently and sustainably in the face of disturbances and uncertainty. The definition of Resilience agreed for Zimbabwe is “the ability of at risk individuals, households, communities and systems to anticipate, cushion, adapt, bounce back better and move on from the effects of shocks and hazards in a manner that protects livelihoods and recovery gains, and supports sustainable transformation.” (Building Resilience in Zimbabwe: towards a resilience strategic framework, March 2015.)
Zimbabwe Resilience Building Fund activities are guided by the five resilience principles of agreed in the Resilience strategic framework for Zimbabwe developed in 2015:
  • Focus on shock dynamics: 
  • Resilience as a multidimensional capacity: 
  • Resilience functions: 
  • Outcome-indexed capacities: 
  • Multi-level and systems-based: 
ZRBF seeks to ensure that development programmes are designed and based on evidence concerning the shocks and stresses that affect the well-being of rural communities in Zimbabwe, as well as their capacities to withstand and recover from these shocks. 



The increased capacities enable households and communities to contribute towards economic growth of Zimbabwe under the guidance of Zimbabwe Agenda for Sustainable Social Economic Transformation (ZIMASSET) and Zimbabwe United Nations Development Assistance Framework (ZUNDAF) 2016-2020.  ZRBFs activities are designed to be responsive to the following national policies and statutes:

  • Zimbabwe Agenda for Sustainable Socio-Economic Transformation (ZIM-ASSET),
  • National Climate Change Response Strategy (2015)
  • Civil Protection Act (1989)
  • Zimbabwe Interim Poverty Reduction Strategy Paper (I-PRSP) 2016-2018
  • The National Gender Policy (2013-2017)
  • Meteorological Services Act and
  • the Food and Nutrition Security Policy (FNSP), and
  • Comprehensive Agricultural Policy Framework (2012-2032)



The international conventions and agreements include:

  • the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) (Goals 1-17),
  • the Sendai Framework for Disaster Reduction (2015-2030)
  • the United Nations Framework on Climate Change (UNFCC),
  • the Paris Agreement, and
  • the Windhoek Agreement
Type your search and press ENTER